Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:42 p.m. - 2006-02-01
roaming children
Amazing, just amazing.

I was sitting here with my children doing their normal afterschool things around the house and I see my son's friend run up to our house. And I think...oh his mom must be somewhere behind him and he ran ahead. So I answer the door. He asks if Buddy can come over as he's trying to catch his breath. I say okay, is your mom behind you? Uh no.

After a couple questions I realize his parents are away and his grandparents, who live a couple houses away from him, are watching the four kids under the age 8. He asked his grandmother if he could come to our house and ask Buddy over. She obviously didn't know how far away we lived. It's about 1/3 of a mile, crossing a pretty busy street and no sidewalks. We're talking about a six year old here. I'm still amazed and thankful he made it to my house safely.

I took the boys back to his house in the car and talked to the grandparents, introduced myself, asked when I should come back to get him. She realized I was concerned and said..."well, we grewup in this neighborhood and figured he'd be safe." The whole time I'm thinking: "Lady this isn't 1960 when there were only 30 houses in our neighborhood and you knew everyone that lived here." But I know when I was a kid I was allowed to roam, but I don't think at 6 I was allowed to cross the street. Still I'm amazed. And very glad the boys parents are coming home tomorrow.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!