Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:24 p.m. - 2006-05-06
Hoot
This evening I had a nice night out with Sweetpea. After an afternoon of t-balling, I took her to see Hoot. It was right up our alleys. Also I'm thankful Buddy passed on this movie. He would have hated it, called it boring and made my movie viewing miserable. But back to the movie. For those of you that don't know, it's about saving baby owls. And it's got Jimmy Buffett in it. And it takes place in Florida. How could it go wrong?

Watching the movie made me jones for going back to Florida. Visiting Florida is one of the few things, probably only thing, I miss about living in lower Alabama. While the beaches are awesome, I also miss the piney woods and back bays. One scene shows the the kids in a little skiff boating through the bay. It struck me that my kids have never done that. The first time we moved to Alabama, we drove down to Tyndall AFB and rented a little flat boat and cruised all over the bay. We observed dolphins and snorkeled and knee boarded. Then we pulled up to a random sandbar near an island and jumped out to swim and play with hermit crabs. The water was probably 80 degrees in October and I thought "this has now spoiled me forever". It did, I find the Northern Shores of my childhood paled in comparison when I returned to them. I can even remember sitting on Wakiki Beach and saying outloud "the panhandle of Florida has better beaches."

I need to plan a trip.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!