Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:31 p.m. - 2006-05-16
the beams
It's been a week. Guess what I did today?

I painted the dining room ceiling. It's a sight to behold.

Getting from ripping down beams to painting the ceiling...now that's a journey. I'll share.

First after a short phone discussion with my father, I was off to Lowes. I can always tell when I'm doing home improvement because it means multiple trips to Lowes usually involving talking to red-vested men and then returning unsuitable items. On my first trip, I got liquid nail remover and sandpaper for the Mouse sander. People!! Don't waste your money on liquid nail remover. The unopened tube will be returned next trip. So the man thought the removal of the liquid nail would be his domain. That was until all the remover did was smear around some goo and make it harder to sand. Hours later when it redried, he sanded about three feet and then rested, never to return.

Friday morning it became my domain. I busted ass (or maybe I should say neck) for 2 hours sanding the ceiling using up 10 sanding pads. I was left covered with yellow grit. But it was done and the ceiling was flat. Then I spackled, cleaned the floor, showered and packed for the weekend.

insert weekend events at the lake, like installing the dock, putting boats in the water, kayaking, paddle boating, avoiding water snakes, lighting fires in the pit

With a fresh perspective on Sunday night I renewed the attack on the ceiling Monday. While at the lake and discussing more with my father about covering up the satins left by the liquid nail(I've come to say those words with disgust), he found a can of heavy duty primer in the basement. Most tools and supplies can be found somewhere in one of my father's basements. He's a bit of a packrat. So Monday I sanded and spackled some more and primed. This morning I found almost a full gallon of ceiling paint from the first floor in my basement. And painted and cleaned the floor again.

While the room is empty I'm going to paint two of the walls. The third wall will have a color, samples came from Lowes last night after work. We're leaning towards Lighthouse shadows, it's a light blue gray. Once those walls are dry, the living room furniture will be shifted there and the remaining three beams will come down. Knowing the work invovled makes me dread it. But it has to be done.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!