Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:19 p.m. - 2006-10-16
rethinking September
Well, it's been a long time. Let's recap some major points to the last couple months.

The summer of our discontent ended and things got right into their "normal" routine.

September seemed to signal a new start. The first of the month, I put back on my wedding ring without any big deal. He noticed and commented nicely. Then on September third, I brought home a kitten. His name is Loki and he's an awesome kitty, rather large blue gray tabby(flickr pics). He's laying on the back of the sofa behind me as he usually does when I'm sitting on it. And he plays fetch. He was definately missing from my life.

The rest of the month was punctuated by lots of hiking and geocaching. With a camping trip thrown in there. I actually slept out in a tent in the pouring rain and survived. And listened to owls hoot. My mother took the kids for the weekend, I'm guessing it was sort of a birthday present although she never said as much.

Since this summer, when it was obvious that I wasn't going to rip my children out of the house and get a divorce, I've been estranged from my mother. She really no longer talks to me. At first I was hurt, then I realized her agenda caused me so much grief. I'm still seeing my therapist and she's helped me realize a lot about why it bothers me so much. And we're far from being done. I'm sure as the summer approaches I'll need her more than ever (the therapist, not my mother). As things are going now, we will be moving this summer. Sweetpea has already had teary episodes mentioning the impending move. She's got real friends now. She's involved in activities and loves where we live. It's going to be rough.

My husband is also being promoted next month. That event doesn't seem like a reality. It's a rank I really never imagined him getting to, I imagined he'd be out long before now. Plus it sounds so OLD. But the extra pay doesn't hurt.

My birthday occurred in September and it was strange. Not really celebrated, mostly because a week before it, the main tv in the house broke. SO I got a widescreen flat high def tv for my birthday. Kinda like Homer giving Marge a bowling ball. Next there were cable issues with the high def which coincided with our cable company changing and we got lost in the transition. Then we ended up having to buy the furniture to put it on. It was a total snowball effect. And we got estimates to have a new roof put on and thought we hired someone. But the roof still isn't on and I'm wondering if they'll get to it before winter.

I think that's enough, I'm beginning to ramble. I'm way out of practice writing.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!