Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:22 p.m. - 2006-05-20
perceptions
Interesting. Very Interesting.

Lately I've sort of ignored the internet. Beed there done that. Googled everyone and their brother and myself. Ages ago.

I've looked up everything, dabbled in this and that and have gotten pretty much fed up and jaded with what "the internet" has to offer. Don't get me wrong, I still use all the great research and functions but I thought I had gotten way past getting into the drama.

Until tonight.

I explored myspace just a little. Interesting and dangerous tool you have there. I wanted to see just what I could find out. So I clicked all over the place searching for people and found some pretty enlightening things. Most interestingly friends I know from other places who now have myspace sites. Actually even my younger cousins have myspace pages. I searched my high school and found not one person my age in the hundreds of members in the group. And got really worried about all the 15 yeear olds. I wonder if people know they are easily found on such sites? Probably not. Mostly I don't care what my cousins do, it was my internet friends that fascinated me the most. Is it considered stalking or cheating or prying to find out things about people? I don't know but I'm always thrown off balance by new conflicting info. And personally if it's there to be found then it's not a secret, is it? I'm creative that way.

Really it's not their fault but it makes me wonder, when we think we know someone it's really only what they choose for us to know. This happens all the time, really, is there any one person that knows everything about you? So we feel cheated when we find out something that goes against this image we have in our heads. It feels like everything we knew was a lie. But really it's not a lie, it's just bad assumptions on our part. So we adjust our perceptions and realize not everyone is open. Maybe they can't even admit to themselves the things they do all alone when they are bored in the middle of the night.

Enough of this rambling, I need to get out of my thoughts and return to real life.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!